Paarl Media Selected As Eco-Logic Awards Finalist


Paarl Media are finalists in the Energy Saving Award category of the 2014 Eco-Logic Awards. These awards, hosted by The Enviropaedia in association with SABC 3, identify and recognise organisations, products and services that are making a real and measurable difference in creating a more sustainable world to live in.

Each entry was judged against the seven Eco-Logic principles namely: care for the earth, long-term thinking, holistic thinking, emotional and intuitive intelligence, ubuntu, quality-based (meta-physical) values and innovation.
David Parry-Davis, Publishing Editor of The Enviropaedia and co-host of the Eco-Logic Awards, said, ‘The quality of the Eco-Logic Award entries this year is diverse and inspirational. We received a record number of entries from a diverse suite of projects, organisations and individuals, including big business, municipalities, NGOs, communities, SMEs and pressure groups. They reflect the amazing work that is being done across the country, and left me inspired and optimistic for the future.’
After a national call for entries, the following finalists have been selected:
The Water Conservation Award (Sponsored by TCTA)
• Woolworths.
• WESSA – Eco-Schools Programme.
• EcoPools.
The Recycling Award (Sponsored by Collect a Can)         
• Wattville Ithuseng Recycling Co-op Ltd.
• Plastics SA.
• Vineyard Hotel.
• Bay Harbour Market.
The Eco-Community Award (Sponsored by SABC3)         
• Princess Vlei Forum.
• Msobomvu Community (supported by Project 90×2030).
• Greenpop.
• Miss Earth South Africa – Public Awareness campaign.
The Transport Award
• Bicycling Empowerment Network (BEN).
• Findalift.
• City of Johannesburg-  Rea-Vaya Bus Rapid Transit.
• Blendwell Chemicals.
The Climate Change Awards (Sponsored by the Department of Environmental Affairs)
• Credible Carbon.
• Pick n Pay.
• Food and Trees for Africa.
• Standard Bank.
The Biodiversity Award (Sponsored by Exxaro)
• EWT- National Biodiversity and Business Network Programme.
• Botanical Society – Custodians of Rare and Endangered Wildflowers (CREW) Programme.
• North Durban Honorary Rangers.
• WESSA Blue Flag Programme.
The Municipalities Award (Sponsored by Santam)
• eThekwini Municipality – DSW.
• Mossel Bay.
• City of Johannesburg.
• City of Cape Town.
The Eco-Youth Award (Sponsored by Pick ‘n Pay – climate change)         
• Blake Anthony Combrink.
• John Lucas.
• Joshua Nunn.
• Malukhanye Steven Mbopha.
The Eco-Angel Award (Sponsored by ACSA)       
• Annie Beckhelling.
• Joe Matimba.
• Zaitoon Ranabey.
• Kerryn Morrison.
The Energy Saving Award (Sponsored by NBI)   
• Growthpoint Properties.
• Paarl Media.
• Hotel Verde.
• The Lightie.
The Eco-Innovation Award (Sponsored by Breathecoat)
• Afrisam.
• Shark Spotters.
• Touching the Earth Lightly.
• Ecospecifier.
The Eco-Warrior Award               
• Kelvin Cochraine.
• Karen Allen.
• Catherine Constantinides.
• Quinton Martins.
The 2014 Eco-Logic Award winners will be announced at Maropeng (Cradle of Humankind South Africa) World Heritage site in Gauteng on 17 September 2014.

Previous articleXerox Reports Huge Success at Africa Print Durban Expo 
Next articleHeidelberg Announces New Regional Sales Director