International Print Day Creates Impressions In The Millions

703

Celebrating its fourth year focusing on the original communications delivery device, International Print Day (IPD) threw open its virtual doors to the global print community on 18 October. At present the IPD hashtag on Twitter generated 26 million timeline deliveries in 24 hours.

The occasion presents a worldwide conversation without borders to share a passion for print through social media that spans all time zones and all types of print, which began at 6pm ET on 17 October (11pm GMT, 9AM AEST) and finished 24 hours later on 18 October at 6pm ET.

There were many ways for students and artists, printers and their supply chain partners to participate. IPD allowed those interested to share their work, favourite print samples and applications or simply share a moment with fellow enthusiasts using the hashtag #IPD17.

IPD’s annual theme is born from the community that gathers for a weekly #PrintChat held every Wednesday on Twitter at 4PM ET and this year was ‘#PrintUX’, providing another way for stakeholders to interact. ‘Print is an evolving technology with a proud history and a vibrant future,' said Deborah Corn, principal at Print Media Centr and the driving force behind the day. ‘PrintUX represents ‘The Print Experience’ as related to print’s role in the world, print’s role in our lives, and the industry’s role in providing the tools and technology to manifest imagination through the printing process.